COWAN JR./SR. HIGH SCHOOL
Jim Suding, Principal

Stacey Brewer,  Assistant Principal / Athletic Director

9401 S. Nottingham Street
Muncie, Indiana  47302

(765) 289-7128       FAX (765) 741-5954

High School Home Page 


Welcome to Cowan Jr./Sr. High School!

Welcome to Cowan Jr./Sr. High School's online home! 
To navigate around the CHS site, hover over the words in the boxes above. Clicking on each of the buttons will allow you to visit various school news, organization & clubs, athletic / sport sites, along with detailed faculty schedules.
This site is currently under going daily updates and link changes, please be patient.
We are working to improve and inform you better. 
Enjoy your visit!

To continue, select an area to explore from the boxes above, or click on the words below... Central Office, Elementary School or High School to return to their main pages.

Cowan Jr./ Sr. High School
School Mascot: Blackhawks
School Colors: Black & Gold
School Song: "On Wisconsin"  (click on the school song title to listen)

School Enrollment: (Grades 7- 12)   340
School Yearbook: Sachem
School Newspaper: Totem Pole
 

Indiana Department of Education

Cowan School Data / Trend Data -State Link 
Istep Results
Indiana Accountability System
For School Snapshot click here


Wunderground.com
 

Up to Date Area Weather

www.wunderground.com/US/IN/Muncie
 

The POWERSCHOOL link will be functioning starting August 11, 2008.  If you have been issued a login and password this will be a short cut to the POWERSCHOOL web site.

 http://cowan.powerschool.com/public

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


HS CAFETERIA REMINDERS

Lunch money WILL NOT be taken by the cashier when you go through the lunch line.
You may deposit money in the mail boxes outside the library, in the north hall or in the band hall Monday thru Friday by 10:00 AM.
Make sure your name and account number is on your check or on the envelope if you deposit cash.
There will be NO lunch charges! You must have money in your account to eat!
The school will NOT provide envelopes.
Go to www.CafePrepay.com. to register online to pay and/or monitor your lunch account.


             2008-2009  SCHOOL CALENDAR

August 11-12 Teacher Work Days
August 13 First School Day for Students
September 1 Labor Day - No School
October 2 Early Dismissal - Teacher In-Service
October 21 Dismiss 11:30; Parent-Teacher Conferences afternoon/evening
October 22 Parent-Teacher Conferences in a.m.
October 23-24  Fall Break - No School
November 7 Early Dismissal - Teacher In-Service
November 27-28 Thanksgiving Vacation - No School
December 22- Jan. 2 Winter Vacation - No School
January 5 Teacher Record Day - No School
January 6 Students Return
January 19 Early Dismissal - Teacher In-Service
February 16 Make-up Day - SCHOOL WILL BE IN SESSION
February 27 Early Dismissal - Teacher In-Service
March 20-27 Spring Break
April 10 Make-up Day - SCHOOL WILL BE IN SESSION
May 1 Make-up Day - SCHOOL WILL BE IN SESSION
May 25 Memorial Day - No School
TBA Last Senior Day*
TBA Student's Last Day*
June 5 Graduation*
*Dates Subject to Change!!!

HOMEWORK HOTLINE 741-5959

Students remember to call homework hotline daily especially when you are absent. You are still responsible to make up homework missed while you are out. The hotline is updated each day by 3:15pm. If an illness requires a student to be out for more than three days, arrangements can be made with the office to pick up books or other materials needed.

Messages can also be left for teachers 24 hours using the homework hotline number. Teachers usually check their messages at least once each day. Their first priority is giving all their classes a quality education, so please keep this in mind while waiting for a return phone call!

 

NUMBERS FOR TEACHERS AND STAFF 2008-2009

TEACHER

SUBJECT EXT.

E-MAIL

Mrs. Amy Abbott Family and Consumer Sciences 320 aabbott@cowan.k12.in.us
Ms. Beth Ann Angel Special Education Students Resources 301 bangel@cowan.k12.in.us
Mrs. Ami Brown Language Arts / English 315 abrown@cowan.k12.in.us
Mrs. Margie Chapel PE, Health, Language Arts / English 303 mchapel@cowan.k12.in.us
Mrs. Pam Collins Fine Arts Music 323 pcollins@cowan.k12.in.us
Mrs. Tammy Craig Media Center / Library 331 tcraig@cowan.k12.in.us
Mr. Kevin Crump Mathematics 314 kcrump@cowan.k12.in.us
Mr. Vince Edwards Mathematics 313 vedwards@cowan.k12.in.us
Mrs. Margie Enochs Nurse 328 menochs@cowan.k12.in.us
Mr. Mike Estep Business Education 309 mestep@cowan.k12.in.us
Mr. Mike Evans Technology Education 338 mevans@cowan.k12.in.us
Mr. Aaron Groves Social Studies 306 agroves@cowan.k12.in.us
Mrs. Beth Holland Study Hall 327 bholland@cowan.k12.in.us
Mrs. Sherri Kerr Mathematics 312 skerr@cowan.k12.in.us
Miss Shawn Marcus Spanish 316 smarcus@cowan.k12.in.us
Mr. Bill McIntire Social Studies 307 bmcintire@cowan.k12.in.us
Mrs. Barb Miller Language Arts / English 304 bmiller@cowan.k12.in.us
Miss Stacey  Miller Language Arts / English 305 smiller@cowan.k12.in.us
Mrs. Melanie Morgan Science 318 mmorgan@cowan.k12.in.us 
Mrs. Rachel Nixon Science / Chemistry 317 rnixon@cowan.k12.in.us
Mr. Rodney Overla Fine Arts 311 roverla@cowan.k12.in.us
Mr. Camden Parkhurst PE, Health 326 cparkhur@cowan.k12.in.us
Mrs. Candace Smithson Biology 319 csmithson@cowan.k12.in.us
Mrs. Bonnie Turner Computer 310 bturner@cowan.k12.in.us

Central Office    Elementary School    High School    Corporation Homepage 

Last Update  03/12/2009